Τετάρτη, 2 Ιανουαρίου 2013

Fez η μπλε πόλη

Το παρακάτω κείμενο το βρήκαμε στο http://taxidia4fun.blogspot.gr/ και περιγράφει τη πόλη Φεζ στο Μαρόκο.



Οι αριθμοί.... είναι ιεροσυλία, αλλά έχω συνδέσει την επίσκεψη μου στην πόλη Φεζ, μια από τις πέντε αυτοκρατορικές του Μαρόκού, με αριθμούς....
"Μα καλά, πόσοι άνθρωποι ζουν μέσα στα όρια των τειχών της πόλης?, πόσα μαγαζιά, μαγαζάκια βιοτεχνίες και αγορές?, πόσοι δρόμοι και σοκκάκια?". Είναι το πρώτο που μου ήρθε στο μυαλό. Κανείς δεν έχει καταφέρει να μετρήσει με ακρίβεια, κανείς δεν μπόρεσε να απαντήσει παρά μόνο με εικασίες...Ούτε η UNESCO που ανακήρηξε την πόλη μνημείο παγκόσμιας κληρονομιάς.

Λέγεται ότι στην μεσαιωνική πόλη με το σουκ, ζουν περίπου 200.000 άνθρωποι, πάνω από 10.000 επιχειρήσεις, σίγουρα αν προσθέσουμε το μήκος όλων των δρόμων, υπερβαίνει τα 120 χιλιόμετρα.
Ένα είναι σίγουρο. Το να περάσεις την μέρα σου μέσα στον πολύβουο δαίδαλο της Φεζ, αποτελεί εμπειρία ζωής. Εφεθήκαμε σε μια βόλτα χωρίς προορισμό, μυρίσαμε τις ξεχωριστές μυρωδιές, τα μπαχαρικά, τα δέρματα, τα χαλιά, τα μπακίρια, τα χαρακτιριστικά μπλε κεραμικά. Η medina, η κλειστή αγορά, με τα μπαχάρια (αξίζει να αγοράσεις mix μπαχαριών για κρέατα και κοκκινιστά, γλυκιά πάπρικα που δε βρίσκεις στα super market), τα κρεοπωλία με τα κεφάλια ζώων κρεμασμένα, τα υπαίθρια μανάβικα. Και ύστερα τα παιδιά, χιλιάδες παιδιά να τριγυρίζουν και να παίζουν στα στενα. Μια στάση σε μια από τις κρίνες, χαρακτηριστικά διακοσμημένες με μπλε ψηφιδες, η βόλτα στην Ανδαλουσιανή συνοικία με τις βιοτεχνείες χαλιών και επίπλων.
Και ξαφνικά μια μεγάλη ξύλινη πύλη σκαλισμένη με αραβουργήματα, σε βγάζει από τη βουή του δρόμου, σε ένα καταπράσινο κλειστό κήπο με συντριβάνια και φοίνικες, περικλείει μια επαυλη που συνήθως έχει μετατραπεί σε ξενοδοχείο.
Η συνοικία των βυρσοδεψών, παγκόσμια τουριστική ατραξιόν... το απογευμα πέφτει πάνω στην πολή, δροσίζει, οι αρχαίοι επτά μιναρέδες της πόλης καλούν τους πιστούς για την τελευταία προσευχή της ημέρας. Μαγεμένοι και χαμένοι, στον λαβύρινθο, δίνουμε σε ένα πιτσιρικί μερικά ντιράμ, για να μας οδηγήσει σε μιά από τις επιβλητικές αψίδες- εξόδους της πόλης. Τόσο γεμάτοι όσο ποτέ. Οι απλοί άνθρωποι, η χαρά της ζωής, η ξενοιασιά που τόσο λείπει από τον δυτικό πολιτισμό....
Έξω από τα τείχη της πόλης η εβραϊκή συνοικία, με τα χαρακτηριστικής αρχιτεκτονικής σπίτια.
Άλλος ένας γύρος παζαριών με τον ιδιοκτήτη του petit taxi για να μας πάει στο ξενοδοχείο. Πάντα όμως με χαμόγελο και ευγένεια.

Τρίτη, 12 Ιουλίου 2011

St. Basil's Cathedral


Although it's known to everyone as St. Basil's, this legendary building is officially called "The Cathedral of the Intercession of the Virgin by the Moat". The popular alternative refers to Basil the Blessed, a Muscovite 'holy fool' who was buried on the site (in the Trinity Cathedral that once stood here) a few years before the present building was erected.

The Cathedral was ordered by Ivan the Terrible to mark the 1552 capture of Kazan from Mongol forces. It was completed in 1560. That's pretty much all the genuine history that's known about this celebrated landmark. There, however, scores of legends. Nothing is known about the builders, Barma and Postnik Yakovlev, except their names and the dubious legend that Ivan had them blinded so that they could not create anything to compare. Historians unanimously state that this is nothing but urban folklore.

Architectural specialists are to this day unable to agree about the governing idea behind the structure. Either the creators were paying homage to the churches of Jerusalem, or, by building eight churches around a central ninth, they were representing the medieval symbol of the eight-pointed star. The original concept of the Cathedral of the Intercession has been hidden from us beneath layers of stylistic additions and new churches added to the main building. In fact, when built, the Cathedral was all white to match the white-stone Kremlin, and the onion domes were gold rather than multi-colored and patterned as they are today.

In the 17th century a hip-roofed bell tower was added, the gallery and staircases were covered with vaulted roofing, and the helmeted domes were replaced with decorated ones. In 1860 during rebuilding, the Cathedral was painted with a more complex and integrated design, and has remained unchanged since.

For a time in the Soviet Union, there was talk of demolishing St. Basil's - mainly because it hindered Stalin's plans for massed parades on Red Square. It was only saved thanks to the courage of the architect Pyotr Baranovsky. When ordered to prepare the building for demolition, he refused categorically, and sent the Kremlin an extremely blunt telegram. The Cathedral remained standing, and Baranovsky's conservation efforts earned him five years in prison.

The Cathedral is now a museum. During restoration work in the seventies a wooden spiral staircase was discovered within one of the walls. Visitors now take this route into the central church, with its extraordinary, soaring tented roof and a fine 16th Century iconostasis. You can also walk along the narrow, winding gallery, covered in beautiful patterned paintwork.

One service a year is held in the Cathedral, on the Day of Intercession in October.

Opening hours: Daily from 11.00 to 17.00, closed on Tuesdays.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
The info above has been taken by http://www.moscow.info/red-square/st-basils-cathedral.aspx

Τρίτη, 27 Ιουλίου 2010

Florence
Art Gallery





Pizza Man



The Duomo



Ponte Vecchio



Ristorante Del Fagioli



Gelato



Il Rifrullo



La Specola



Local Etiquette



Markets



Masticabrodo osteria




Κυριακή, 23 Αυγούστου 2009

Paris

St. Germain, Paris




Take a look at the video of Saint Germain in Paris which is a district of Paris which reveals the historic and artistic aspects of the city.

Canal St-Martin, Paris




Emmanuelle shows you where the locals go to get away from the city life.

Location
10th Arrondissement


Berthillon ice cream




Berthillon is said to have the best ice cream in Paris. Watch this video and see everyting about Berthillon ice cream. If you go, you should also try Tarte Tatin.


Websitehttp://www.berthillon-glacier.fr/
AddressGlacier Berthillon29-31 rue Saint Louis en l'ile75004 Paris
Phone/Contact Info01 43 54 31 61


Champs Elysees, Paris




Beyond the touristy vibe, there's plenty to do and see on the world famous boulevard.

Getting There/Directions
Metro - Champs-Elysees Clemenceau


Chocolate Shops



Indulge in chocolate delights in the Marais district of Paris.

Other Information Chocolate Shops featured: Les Chocolats de Beussent, Jadis et Gourmande, Cacao et Chocola. There is a great chocolate shop at 4,rue des archives called Girard.

Fashion Street, Paris



Take a tour of Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré where you find the most upscale and luxury brands.

Location
8th Arrondissement

Getting There/Directions
Metro: Saint-Philippe-du-Roule

Σάββατο, 22 Αυγούστου 2009

Edinburgh Castle



This most famous of Scottish castles has a complex building history. The oldest part, St Margaret's Chapel, dates from the 12th century; the Great Hall was erected by James IV around 1510; the Half Moon Battery by the Regent Morton in the late 16th century; and the Scottish National War Memorial after the First World War

The castle houses the Honours (Crown Jewels) of Scotland, the Stone of Destiny, the famous 15th century gun Mons Meg, the One O' Clock Gun and the National War Museum of Scotland.

In addition to guided tours provided by the castle stewards, there is an audio guide tour available in eight languages. The audio tour takes the visitor on a tour around the castle, explains its architecture, and tells its dramatic history. This guide is available in English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Japanese, Russian and Mandarin. The charge for Adults is £3.00, Concessions £2.00, Children £1.00

The Crown Jewel shop in the Royal Apartments offers exclusive lines of specially designed jewellery.

A courtesy vehicle (provided by the Bank of Scotland) can take visitors with a disability to the top of the castle. Ramps and a lift give access to the Crown Jewels, Stone of Destiny and associated exhibition; and ramps provide access to the war memorial. For those with impaired vision, there is a free Braille guide and hands-on models of the Crown Jewels with Braille texts.

Parking is restricted from June to October for the Edinburgh Military Tattoo.

Contact
The Steward


Castle Hill
Edinburgh
City of Edinburgh
EH1 2NG
Scotland